Select Page

Amy Award


The Progeria Research Foundation Presents: The Amy Award

 The Progeria Research Foundation announces the creation of The Amy Award. Dedicated to Amy Foose, whose sunny personality and love of life continue to inspire all those that knew her, this award is for the PRF supporter who meets the following criteria, of which Amy is most remembered for:

• A role model for how to live a life of joy and optimism;
• A good friend, sibling, and daughter/son;
• A person with a sense of humor and positive attitude;
• Someone who strives to make the most out of every situation and takes on challenges with grace, hope and determination; and
• an individual who has applied the above qualities by tirelessly devoting time, talent and energy to advancing PRF’s mission.


Robyn and Tom Milbury receive 2022 Amy Award!

In 2022 the Amy Award was given to its first couple: Robyn and Tom. They have been involved with PRF for 25 years and have tirelessly and selflessly devoted their time, talent and treasure to advancing our mission. Between the two, they have helped organize 9 galas, 3 golf tournaments, a dozen races, and many other highly successful events over the years – WOW!  They are now inspiring the next generation of Milburys to join them in their never-ending generosity, devotion and love for these extraordinary children.

Jodi Mitchell is our 2018 Amy Award recipient!

Jodi has been involved with PRF since 2004 when she ran in one of our first road races.  After that, she was hooked. Since then, she’s organized a dozen fundraisers at Champions Pub and elsewhere, gotten the biggest team together to run our annual Race for Research, run the Falmouth Road Race on TEAM PRF, volunteers regularly at our office, and basically says to us, “what can I do to help?”.  Everything Jodi does for PRF is done with enthusiasm, kindness, and love which makes her the perfect choice for this year’s award.

Bob Morrison – Supporting PRF Since Day 1 – is our 2016 Amy Award winner! 

Bob was a founding board member (serving on PRF’s Board of Directors from 1999-2007). He brought a savvy business outlook to the board, giving PRF the benefit of his expertise. One of his last votes as a board member was whether or not to fund the first clinical drug trial – an historic and defining moment for PRF because the trial was a big step forward in our mission, but we didn’t have the money to fully fund it at the time. There was a short moment of silence after the presentation on the trial, while we waited for someone to make a motion and Bob said “Well, isn’t this what we’re here for? We’ve got to make this trial happen.” The vote immediately followed, and it was unanimous. Bob continues to make himself available to give advice on a variety of business matters, and is extremely proud to support PRF, humbly adding that he’s glad to “play a small part” in it. For his never-ending generosity, compassion and modesty, he received the 2016 Amy Award.

Kevin King – the 2013 winner – Drives the Support for Children with Progeria

Since 2005, Kevin and his team at YearOne, together with Amy’s brother Chip Foose, have supported PRF through an annual “Braselton Bash” car show in Georgia. The entire staff works tirelessly to ensure a successful weekend. They all happily volunteer their time. This kind of attitude comes from the top – from Kevin – who is totally committed to helping children with Progeria as much as he and YearOne possibly can. It is a true labor of love, and he feels as honored to be able to help as we feel to have him on our team. Kevin exemplifies the kind of tireless dedication that will surely drive the cure for Progeria.

Maura Smith is the 2011 Amy Award winner

The ultimate volunteer, Maura has been an integral part of every Night of Wonder committee, chaired PRF’s Texas Hold ‘Em events, and assists with events and office work whenever needed. But she doesn’t stop there: Maura has recruited her entire family and dozens of friends to support children with Progeria as well. Her pleasant personality and kind disposition made her the perfect choice for this year!

Announcing Debbie Ponn as our 2009 Amy Award winner!

Debbie first became involved with PRF when she came to Night of Wonder (NOW) 2003 as the guest of long-time supporters Robyn and Tom Milbury. At the end of the night, she approached PRF’s director Audrey Gordon and said, “If you ever need help with anything, please call me”. Little did either of them know how much that offer would affect the lives of children with Progeria. Since that time Debbie co-chaired NOWs 2005, 2007 and 2011, co-organized the Chicago event in June 2009, and continues to help PRF in many other ways. She is ALWAYS there to help, as Amy was for her friends and family.

Congratulations to Julie Pritchard, the 2007 Amy Award winner!

Julie is a graphic designer who has been volunteering tirelessly for PRF since its inception in 1998. She created PRF’s brochures, posters, t-shirts and many other pieces that allow us to reach out and deliver our message.

“The thing I find most fascinating about Julie”, says Leslie Gordon, who presented the award at Night of Wonder 2007, “is that, from the first 1000 times that she said ‘Oh, can I do that for you?’, her philanthropy has truly been a labor of love. She feels as honored to be able to help as we feel to have her on our team. Julie, you are what Amy exemplified – love, courage, and the kind of tireless dedication that will surely drive the cure for Progeria.”

2005: Chip Foose and Kim Paratore receive our first Amy Award

PRF and The Night of Wonder 2005 Committee presented the first Amy Award to our honored guest, Chip Foose, Amy’s brother. Chip is fast becoming not only internationally recognized in the auto world, but also spokesman for PRF, engaging the producer of his show “Overhaulin’” and many others to support PRF.

Chip says, “People constantly ask me how I keep going with so little rest and stay so positive. I answer them by saying, ‘I watched my sister Amy go and go and go without ever hearing a single complaint. She is my constant inspiration and strength.’”

Also given the Amy Award at the 2005 Night of Wonder was Kim Paratore, now a member of PRF’s Board of Directors. Kim has been involved as a PRF volunteer since its inception, having chaired the first three Night of Wonder galas, and numerous other PRF fundraising events.

Winners are chosen by a committee comprised of Amy’s mother Terry Foose, PRF’s Executive Director and Medical Director, and past awardees. They are announced at PRF’s Night of Wonder Gala, held every 2 years.